Ronda Rousey

HO-LY SH*T!!  HO-LY SH*T!!  I didn’t think there was any chance in hell that was gonna happen!  I was talking to a buddy of mine on Friday night and said I really wanted to get the fight but $50-$60 is too expensive for 30 seconds of seeing Ronda Rousey fight.  He said Holly Holm was a worthy fighter and it wouldn’t be like every other fight.  I don’t know a ton about MMA, but didn’t give it much thought. It’s f*cking Ronda Rousey. She’s the most dominant athlete on the planet. No one beats her. No one comes close!  But he was right!  And I’m so pissed that we didn’t get it.  The video is widely available on youtube now, but there’s just nothing like the immediacy of seeing it live.  That “what the hell just happened” moment of it all.  The morning after, I still can’t believe it happened.

Some people are calling it the biggest upset in UFC history. Again, I don’t know enough about MMA to agree or disagree with that. But, I saw a claim that it was the biggest upset in fight history. THAT is a ridiculous claim. This is not Douglas/Tyson or my favorite upset ever, when Lennox Lewis lost to Hasim Rahman.  Lewis was Floyd Mayweather before Mayweather. A completely overrated fighter who ran his mouth too much, played defense the entire time and was afraid to actually fight. Lennox Lewis is my least favorite heavyweight ever. The exact opposite of Tyson. Mayweather my least favorite fighter ever, overall. But that’s partly because he’s such a chicken sh*t in the ring, and mostly because he’s such a dispicable person.  The Golden Boy, Oscar De La Hoya wrote an awesome article about Mayweather this week.

Back to Rousey, obviously, there will be a rematch. When, I have no idea. But you can bet your sweet ass I will be paying for that one.  That is must see PPV.

Leave a Reply

