Lucy

I seriously thought Lucy came out recently. I can’t believe it was over a year ago.  Where does the time go?  There it was just sitting at the top of my Netflix queue never getting selected.  While I picked other Scarlett Johansson movies like the heaping pile of garbage Under the Skin, Lucy just waited and waited. Am I glad I saw it?  Yeah.  Am I glad I didn’t contribute to the box office numbers?  Also yeah.

Scarlett plays our title hero.  Her new boyfriend tricks her into carrying a package into a hotel, neither of them know the contents.  As it turns out, it is a new drug, and a bag of it is forcibly sewn into her stomach.  After she takes a beating for not allowing her captor to touch her, the bag is broken and the drugs are released into her bloodstream allowing her to use more than the 10% of her brain the movie would like you to believe is correct.

Overall, I enjoyed the movie. But it’s hard to be truely invested when at every turn, she is shown to be completely invincible. Even though, the main character in all movies is impervious to death, this was completely over the top. At no point did I think she was ever in any danger of being caught or death.

I won’t spoil the ending for those who haven’t seen it, but the last 15 minutes or so is utter nonsense. Which took me from really liking the movie despite its faults, to simply enjoying it. And now as I write this, and think about it more, the ending really takes away from the rest of the movie.

Maybe it’s the director. Luc Besson apparently is not someone I am a fan of based on his work. The Fifth Element was terrible. Although to be fair, I saw it once, 20 years ago when it came out and couldn’t tell you a single thing about it now. And everyone I know hated The Transporter. So I never saw it. But he produced Hitman which I loved, and wrote the Taken series. Eh, I guess its hit or miss.

I guess it comes down to this. If you are upset by fake science and over the top assumptions about what we can do with all of our brain power, stay away.  If you want to see animals f**king and giving birth, see Lucy.

Yeah, that’s in there.

Leave a Reply

