Unbreakable!

Where the hell have I been, under a rock?  How have I missed the glory and greatness that is The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt?  I found out about the show about a week ago when Tina Fey was on Late Night with Seth Meyers. I am all about Tina Fey.  Nothing she does gets past me!  That sounded creepy and stalkerish. What I mean is, I will see anything she is part of, and somehow I had no idea she created a new show.

Maybe it’s because it is only on Netflix, and I still don’t see many (any) Netflix original shows. I did watch one episode of Daredevil. I will go back and finish that this year at some point. But it somehow got pushed back behind other things.  I did also watch the Netflix only season of Arrested Development. But I was kind of disappointed in that one. I didn’t find that nearly as good as the other seasons.

Anyway, when I heard Tina had written a new show, I started watching immediately.  It’s great because it was only a 13 episode season, so it’s been easy to get through in just a couple days.  I was absolutely not let down. Since Parks and Rec and 30 Rock went off the air, there aren’t many comedies I watch anymore.  I can’t actually think of one off the top of my head. Which by default makes this the best comedy I am watching right now. Even if there were others, it would be WAY up there.

Ellie Kemper stars as Kimmy Schmidt. As a teenager, she was kidnapped and kept in a bunker. She, along with three other girls, was told the world had ended and they were safe down below. Once rescued, Kimmy decides she doesn’t want to go back to her normal life and heads out on her own to New York.  She gets an apartment, and a new job and realizes she doesn’t need anyone but herself and her new found friends.  A real coming of age story.

Kemper’s infectious personality that made her so great on The Office is even bigger and more prominent in a starring role in this show.  While she may be a similar character to Erin in their child-like innocence, she is perfectly cast as Schmidt.  It would be too easy to say she is being type-cast as this type of character.  Obviously, I do not know Kemper, or much about her in any way.  I just think this is who she is.  It seems to me, this IS her personality.  Or maybe just an overblown version of her.  And whether this part was written with her in mind or she was simply the right casting decision, Tina nailed it when she hired Kemper.

The show also stars Jane Krakowski as Kimmy’s boss, Jacqueline Voorhees. I know, I was hoping for some sort of Jason reference too. But it hasn’t happened yet. I guess it’s probably too easy of a joke. Maybe all the other last names were used already.  Also probably why I am not a writer on a comedy show.  I think I am way funnier than I actually am.  Just ask anyone who knows me.  It’s all d*ck and fart jokes.

Krakowski, for those unfamiliar, is best known to me as Jenna Maroney from 30 Rock. Others may know her from Ally McBeal or the original Vacation movie.  She also plays a character very similar to her 30 Rock Jenna.  Very superficial. Very self absorbed.

Now, if you’re thinking that because they play characters they’ve already played, and therefore don’t need to watch the show.  I had those same concerns when I started watching.  But the writing is so good.  So what if they are different versions of other characters they have played?  Shut your stupid face and watch it right now!!

Joy Pose!!

Leave a Reply

