How I spent my summer vacation (Part 1)

Wow, four months.  It has been four months since I posted.  A ton has happened in the past four months.  And by a ton, I mean very little.  I will get to all of it!!  I can’t decide if I want to break it up, or make it one long post.  I guess I will decide when I get to the end and see how I cut it up!  A big surprise for all of us!  So I guess you may be wondering where I’ve been.  Either that, or you’ve forgotten all about me.  Whichever it is, I am happy to have you!  So part of the reason for my lack of writing is the same reason I started the blog in the first place.  I know, ironic.

I started writing as a way to get away from the real world, even if for just a few minutes.  Even if no one was reading except for me.  It made me happy.  When I quit my job 4 1/2 years ago to stay home with my first daughter, it was partly because we didn’t want a daycare raising her, and partly because my salary at the time would cover the cost of that day care and not much else.  When we had our second daughter, it was even less likely that we could send me back to work.  While we felt very blessed that we could afford to do this, it was hard for me to accept the fact that I wasn’t able to pay for much of anything in my household.  Not in a “I’m the man, I need to make more money” kind of way.  Because I couldn’t care less about that.  I just felt like I worked really hard to get to where I was for what I went through in college, and to realize I was pretty worthless at work, made me feel pretty crappy.

Now, we are trying to buy a new house!  And we are trying to buy in the same area where our daughters are going to school, and we are finding out that we cannot afford what we thought we could on the single income.  And it all goes back to me feeling pretty worthless.  I can’t go back to work, because I don’t want to do what I was doing before.  And if I can’t make enough money at my old career, I certainly can’t at a new one.  Trying to tell myself everyday that I’m not a total f**king loser is exhausting.  Not believing myself is the real reason I wasn’t writing.  I just didn’t feel like writing about anything I was doing.

But here we are, and I am back to wanting to write for me.  I need this.  Even if no one reads it.  So where to begin?  I guess I rambled on long enough that I will break this up.  So lets start with the movies I saw this summer.  Two in the theaters, one (yeah only one.  I’ll explain in the next post) on netflix.

The first movie I saw was Inside Out.  It was really good.  I took my daughter and she couldn’t have loved it more.  Her birthday was a few weeks ago, and if we hadn’t already bought everything for a Frozen party, I am pretty sure she would have wanted an Inside Out party.  She loves Joy.  How can she not?  The reason I loved the movie so much was because of Joy.  I am such of fan of Amy Poehler and everything she does.  Even though I haven’t had a chance to read her new book yet.  If you haven’t, go out and buy it right now!!  Now that both my daughters are in school a few hours a day, I have more time to watch Parks and Rec reruns in the morning!  Always a good morning!  In it, Amy plays Joy.  An emotion inside a little girls mind along with a few others who run her daily life.  She, along with sadness, get lost and have to find their way back before they are lost forever.  If you are a fan of Poehler, it is a must see.  She is her normal amazing self, even in voice over form.

I also saw Ant-Man.  I was really excited, because I am a fan of all things Paul Rudd.  Phil didn’t like it.  And I thought it was okay.  After talking to him about it, I think I agree with him on the reason, and I’m going to steal it here.  The Marvel movies are teetering on the edge of being overdone.  The origin story films all follow the same format, the same basic storyline, and the same story arc.  It is getting pretty boring.  I am hopeful that the Marvel Universe takes a different turn when the Civil War comes out.  There will always be new movies coming out, and new origin stories to tell, but I am excited about the next Captain America.  Although I was really disappointed with the last Captain America movie.

The last one I saw was Taken 3.  I saw the reviews, but saw it anyway.  I should have listened to the reviews.  I am not sure why this was a Taken movie.  There is no reason for this to be part of the trilogy.  It could have very easily been a (SPOILER ALERT) “who killed the main characters girl, wrongly accused, find the bad guy” movie.  As I told my friend Greg, the only thing that was Taken was Lenore’s (Famke Janssen) life.  The only thing I can think of is 1. The studio knew it would make a sh*t load of money if they threw the Taken title on it, and 2. they could avoid any character development for the same reason.  It has absolutely no connection to the other two other than character names.  If the writers had given the characters any other names, and titled the film anything else, it probably would have made more sense.  If you saw the first two, there is no reason to see this.  The series ended at part two.

Okay so I know I rambled on a bit at the beginning and didn’t do a great job of the movies I saw and didn’t see (damn, I can’t believe I missed Straight Outta Compton.  The second most important movie to me this year.  Ahem.  12/18.  The Force Awakens).  But I am really going to try to be better going forward about writing.  It really is beneficial to me.  I feel better already.  For anyone who actually reads this, it means a lot!

Leave a Reply

