No!  My Puddin’!

Wow, I’ve been gone a really long time!  Over two months now. It has been a long two months for me. I’ve really been struggling with.. well, everything to be honest. But I am working on finding my peace and being better inside and not letting every little thing bring me down. Including me.  It’s a daily struggle, but luckily I have amazing friends like Phil who keep inviting me to things like golf even though I’m terrible, and to sit with him at our beloved Sacramento Republic’s games even though it was pouring rain. Yes, it does rain in California!!

IMG_2682[1] IMG_2685[1]

Also, i told myself I needed to spend what little free time I had finishing my book. Almost 900 damn pages and I still can’t decide if I liked it or not. If you’re looking for a book that takes forever to read and won’t give you the satisfaction your looking for in the end, go get 11/22/63 by Stephen King. It’s just the book for you!!

However let’s not get bogged down with what has been keeping me away from posting for so long.  I want to talk about what brought me back. And no. I am not a happy camper. 

I can’t believe all the stuff I missed!  The amazing new Star Wars trailer. The disappointing, but predictably terrible Batman Vs Superman trailer.

And yesterday the first images from The Suicide Squad movie were released. I don’t care about Will Smith as Deadshot. What I do care about is Margot Robbie as my girl Harley Quinn. I am more obsessed with Harley than any grown man should be. Grown man may be a stretch.  Am I ashamed or embarassed by my stuff?  Nope!  In fact, I’ll show it to you!

Here is my keychain.  And this is my phone case: IMG_2707[1]

And here are my shirts: IMG_2708[1]

I had been looking forward to seeing what they did with her costume ever since they announced her in the movie. And I don’t know if they could have done a worse job of designing her outfit.  Between video games, TV shows and all the other versions, there were a ton of different choices the director could have gone with. And instead it’s a combination of a few of them and looks awful.

Granted, in the DC Universe, Harley doesn’t join the Suicide Squad until The New 52 which is when she was re-introduced with a red and blue look instead of her iconic black and red. As I sit here writing this, I am seeing David Ayers point of view on her, but at this point, she could be anyone. If I just saw a picture of her with no context, I’m not sure I would know it was Harley.

I saw someone on Twitter said it looks like a bad cosplay outfit put together based on a description without ever actually seeing Harley. That sounds about right. I thought it looked like a college girl trying to be punk for a boy when everyone can tell she was a cheerleader in high school. Then I realized, wow they nailed it!  With Harley’s origin, that’s not too far from the truth!!

I went to a Kings game during my hiatus, and turns out, that night was comic book night.  Lucky for me, I ran into, and took a picture with, someone dressed up as Harley.  I wouldn’t have gone with this particular version for the film, but it’s still better than what we will be forced to sit through in August, 2016.

IMG_2671[1]

I am still planning on going to see it.  I will reserve further judgement of the movie until the trailer comes out, and even the actual film.  I was just so disappointed when I saw Harley.  She doesn’t look like the Clown Princess of Crime.  She looks like she could be anyone.  Just wasn’t what I was hoping we would see.  I am not sure which version of Quinn I would have used, but It would have been something a little more…I don’t know.  But it would have been a little more Harley, that’s for sure.

In my limited free time, I’ve been watching a lot of Harley fan films on YouTube. This may be my favorite. It’s much different than I would expect them to use in a movie, but I really loved the more psychotic version of her.  This short video is based on the idea of being inside Harley’s own mind and is brilliant. In her comic books, she’s not THIS insane, but come on. She’s not Hell’s Belle for nothin.

Leave a Reply

