SNL Turns 40

Alright, I finally got through the Saturday Night Live 40th anniversary special.  Yeah, it took a while.  Shut up.  I had other things I had to watch instead.  Brooklyn Nine-Nine was more important.  And as the week went on, Justified and Archer were more important.  Hey, I have my priorities.  I am not really sure what I expected the show to be.  But I was pretty disappointed in what it was.  How was it 3 1/2 hours long, and mostly filler material?  Am I the only one who seems to think this?

The Jeopardy sketch was beyond amazing.  It was always one of my favorites growing up.  I was so glad to see them bring that back and see Burt Reynolds appear.  And I gotta say, I haven’t laughed that hard at an SNL sketch in a really long time.  Maybe since the song “Do it on My Twin Bed.”  But this was so much better.  In fact, everything that was done live was pretty good.  Except The Californians.  I don’t see why that’s at all funny.  Maybe because it has Fred Armisen.  I haven’t seen the Rolling Stone list of all 141 cast members ever but I assume they put him way higher than I would.  Which is last.  Hold on, let me look…. 23?!?!??  Ridiculous list.  Chris Farley is only 15?!?!  The list is total garbage.  Tina Fey is 3.  I’m good with that.  Speaking of Tina, she and Amy doing a weekend update with Jane Curtin was done well until… well until it was totally ruined.  But a bit on that later.

Why did Eddie Murphy even show up?  I thought Chris Rock was giving a eulogy, and then he came out for five seconds to say hi, gee thanks.  Then that was it.  At least show one of his sketches in full!  At least show ANY sketch in full!  I would have much rather seen a few of the full sketches rather than 1 second of every sketch ever.

Now back to the worst part of the night, Melissa McCarthy.  How dare you.  First you ruin Ghostbusters, and now you go on SNL and ruin quite possibly my favorite character of all time?  Matt Foley is sacred.  You do not deserve to wear Farley’s clothes and play his roles.  This is you spitting on his memory.  Jon Lovitz is rolling over in his grave right now!!!

Leave a Reply

