Breaking up with Gotham

There was no show I was more excited about when the new fall schedule was announced than Gotham.  I had been waiting for the show forever.  Even though Batman was going to be a kid, I was all over it.  It was appointment television.  The show started out like a roller coaster for me.  After the first few episodes, I felt it was still going up and up and up.  Somewhere in the middle of the first half of the season, it reached the peak of the roller coaster and started on the downward trajectory.  However, it wasn’t fun like a roller coaster.  And now we are done with the amusement park similarities.

If you were smart enough not to watch Gotham from the start, the show is the origin story of not Batman, but police commissioner Jim Gordon.  Supposedly, it is also the origin of all the super villains from the Batman universe as well, but so far it has been just The Penguin, Catwoman and the Riddler.  Barely the Riddler.  Mostly Penguin.  At this rate, they are going to have to make 50 seasons to get through the rest of the lineup.

My biggest problem isn’t with the lack of villains, or the story lines that seem to go no where.  I just cannot get past the age differences between Bruce Wayne and everyone else.  Admittedly, I am not a comic book fan.  I love Batman, but I am more into his story and the characters than the actual books, if that makes any sense.  So I don’t know what the age differences are in the books.  I can’t imagine the age gap is this large.  And I know it shouldn’t bug me, but it does.  Immensely.  I just keep thinking of these characters once Bruce finally does become Batman in 15 years or so.  They are all going to be senior citizens getting ready to retire.  Or die.

Of course, the story lines are also ridiculous and stupid.  So far they have very little to do with anything relating to Batman, or Gordon, or anything in the DC Universe.  It’s simply a mob TV show.  Is one of the mob bosses from the Batman world?  Yes.  But does the entire show need to revolve around these people?  Was it really necessary to call the show Gotham?  To me, it seems like a cheap trick to get the show on TV, when so far there’s been very little to keep me interested as a fan.  Just call it “Generic Mob Cop Show” and be done with it.  Then I would have never watched it and I could have saved myself a lot of TV time.

But at least now I know what I want in a Batman show.  Freaking Batman.

One response to “Breaking up with Gotham

  1. Gotham is terrible. I gave it a shot. Watched 5 or 6 episodes, but could not get past the terrible acting (looking at you, Jada Pinkett-Smith), the over-cartoonization of some of the franchise’s characters (yeah that’s you, emo Penguin), and an overall script that moves at a glacial pace. The actors portraying Jim Gordoon and his partner Harvey (not to be confused with Harvey Dent) are all right, but I think even they realize they’re caught in a shit storm without an umbrella. The biggest problem with this show though, is that it has no idea what it wants to be. Is this an origin story about Gordon and Gotham’s many villains, or is it a Batman origin story? The show tries to be both, but ends up missing all the marks. It’s sad that the best Batman story we’ve had since Christopher Nolan’s “Batman Begins” was the video game “Arkham Asylum”.

Leave a Reply

