Bro-Country

I have said before that I am a fan of country music. None of my friends are. They all make fun of me for it. And that’s without actually listening to any of the actual songs.

I had started noticing a few years ago that a lot of the songs that were super popular were just not good. But I still listened. Like Natalie Imbruglia, I was torn (If you like 90’s alternative rock, that joke is brilliant). I always listened, but it seemed like every song I was thinking, this song sucks.

As a stay home dad, I didn’t want the TV on all day, so I simply turned the radio on the country station. This accomplished a few things. Allows my daughters and me to sing and dance a lot. Gets my daughters interested in music, and country music specifically. Throughout my life I’ve listened to a but of everything but enjoy country the most. The problem with my plan is their favorite act is Florida Georgia Line who is a pox on society.

Anyway. The biggest problem with country music these days is that all the songs are the same. Or so the prevailing wisdom goes. I have two thoughts on this.

1. Yes they do.

2. On the other hand, I don’t fault singers and songwriters for putting out these songs. The competition is fierce. Get yours while you can. It’s popular and if that’s what is going to get played, I have no problem with what they are doing. If I had any talent outside of karaoke, I’d probably do the same thing.

There are artists who I will defend unapologetically. Don’t ever say a bad word about Gary Allan, Jana Kramer or Ashton Shepherd. You won’t change my mind. Other than them, we can probably talk.

I read http://www.savingcountrymusic.com (all hail savingcountrymusic.com). Well I guess not all hail. I don’t agree with everything they say, but I enjoy the differing opinion. They recently linked to a video that shows exactly HOW similar all these songs are. And it’s awesome.

All cards on the table, I like Luke Bryan. But I understand why people don’t and why he is in this video. The rest don’t really make any difference to me. Which is why I thought this was brilliant.

Leave a Reply

