Who you gonna call?

So I mentioned yesterday that I would come up with a post on some recent Ghostbusters news. Well let’s recap it all for those who, for some reason, aren’t in love with Ghostbusters.

For years, it’s been rumored that there was going to be a Ghostbusters 3. This movie had two cons and one pro.

Cons: Ghostbusters 2. Also, after all these years, it’s so hard to recapture the magic.

Pro: They were putting the band back together. Everyone was in. Except Bill Murray. Okay, I can get behind it as long as it still has the rest of the ol’ gang. I’m not thrilled, but I’m okay.

Then last February, Harold Ramis, writer and original Ghostbuster, passed away. The movies he wrote are unbelievable. Ghostbusters, Caddyshack, Animal House, and Stripes just to mention my favorites. This brought on a whole slew of changes. None of which have been good.

Now it appears they are rebooting (one of my least favorite words in worlds of film) the franchise. The newest report is they want to make it darker and scarier than the original. I have an idea. LEAVE IT ALONE. Just go make a new scary ghost movie, and don’t call it Ghostbusters. And the worst part is the known all along but now confirmed report that… Ugh… Melissa McCarthy is up for a role in the movie. Just stop.

First of all, McCarthy is a one trick pony, and that trick is terrible. I don’t see her appeal. I’ve seen one episode of Mike & Molly. It was awful. Identity Thief was horrible. And this is from someone who crushes HARD on Jason Bateman. Bridesmaids? Crazy overrated. Although I probably would have liked it had she not been in it. She ruins everything. Not to over sell it.

And how does she fit into a scary version of Ghostbusters? They are talking to Kristin Wiig (love her) and Rebel Wilson (I had to look her up) for the cast. They’ve probably looked at more actresses, but at this point does it even matter?  It would appear that Paul Feig (the new director) has his head so far up his own ass, he has no idea what he is doing.  This is going to be awful.  The cast they are talking about is the exact opposite of a cast you would want if you were making a scary movie.  Unless the Wayans are making another Scary Movie.  Which I wouldn’t see either.

Ghostbusters holds a very special place in my heart.  And for a lot of other people as well.  For me, I won’t even buy the DVD because they changed the stupid cover.  I still watch it on VHS because of the box.  I have the original.  Black box, with the logo on it.  Very plain.  The way it was meant to be.  Although I just looked up the DVD on Amazon.  It’s $4.99.  I may have to compromise for $4.99.

Alright fine, will I see Ghostbusters 3 or The New Ghostbusters or whatever the hell they are going to call it?  Of course I will.  I’m not made of stone.  But it will definitely be a Netflix rental.  Who am I kidding?  I will probably go see it on a $5 Tuesday.  No matter how bad it is, and at this rate it’s going to be an absolute dumpster fire, it’s still Ghostbusters.  But I will be really sad about it.

Leave a Reply

