Gotham

I can’t believe it’s finally here!! I waited all summer for last night. The premiere episode of Gotham was on and it was as glorious as I had hoped.  I am a little biased.  There was no way I was going to think it was anything but amazing.  So, if you’re looking for a review that gives both good and bad sides of the show, go somewhere else.  Because I loved it.  I even wore my super cool Batman shirt to my youngest daughters gymnastics class and to pick up my oldest at preschool yesterday in honor of the debut of the show!

Super cool Batman Shirt

Super cool Batman Shirt

Who wants to see the origin story that no one asked for?!  Okay maybe ONE joke about it.  Because in theory, who wants to see a Batman show with no Batman?  Well, me and eight million other people, that’s who!!  The show opens with, of course, the murder of the Thomas and Martha Wayne.  Bruce is a young boy, who is comforted by the new detective on the Gotham beat, James Gordon (Ben McKenzie).  Gordon and his partner, Harvey Bullock (Donal Logue) have the task of catching the killer.  Okay, so I don’t have to go into too much detail.  Everyone knows the backstory.

Throughout the show, we are introduced to most of the main villains from the Batman universe.  While I did like the show, I felt like they rushed through bringing them into the show.  I’m not sure how I would have done it.  A whole episode for each character seems a bit much.  Maybe they have that planned for the future, so we will see where it goes.

The creators of the show did invent a new character in Fish Mooney (Jada Pinkett Smith).  For some reason, this always bugs me in a comic book movie/show.  I feel like there are plenty of characters that they can use in a show like this, so what’s the need to make up a new one?  We will see where they go with Mooney’s character, but I am hopeful that she is a short term character and the leave the Gotham world of organized crime to Carmine Falcone.  I guess every character was invented somewhere.  Even Falcone was started relatively recently, in Batman: Year One.  Somehow it makes sense to me.

I think the part I am most interested in seeing going forward is how they turn the main villains from the comics from the low level thug nobodies they were portrayed to be in the pilot, to the psychotics they turn out to be later on.  I know that it’s a super long shot, especially since she has already somewhat teased in the CW’s Arrow, but with all the characters they showed, give me a little Harley Quinn!!!  She would be a child as well, but I don’t really care.  More Harley is always a good thing.

I don’t know if Gotham can be as good as Arrow, but if it can be anywhere close, it will be a great show.  There is a problem with knowing the general outcome of the show (Bruce becoming Batman, Gordon becoming Police Commissioner.  SPOILER ALERT if you’ve never seen a Batman movie).  Without giving too much away, at the end of the pilot, Gordon has a moment where his morality is tested, and it’s obvious what he will do.  So there really isn’t any suspense to the moment.  We know what will happen.  I hope the show doesn’t continue to give us scenes like this.  Those could get old.

Hmmm… I swear I really loved it.  But this had more negatives in it than I thought it would.  Sometimes I surprise myself.

 

Leave a Reply

