Tonight

I have two alerts on Ticketmaster. One is for Gary Allan, the other is for The Mighty Mighty Bosstones. So imagine my surprise when I got an email on Monday saying “Don’t miss out! The Bosstones are coming Friday!” How did I miss this? Did I not get the alert? Did I delete it, thinking it was spam? They are playing tonight in San Francisco at The Fillmore!!!

I’m pretty sure I’ve told the story about how they came to SF in ’01-’02 (ish) around my birthday and I skipped going because of work and figured they’d be back soon. Then went on hiatus.  I was crushed.  I hadn’t seen them since high school, and even that was during the Warped Tour.  So they did a quick set and were gone.  I hadn’t yet fallen in love with them as I had by the time of the hiatus.

So normally, it wouldn’t be a huge problem.  Yes, I would have to beg and beg to be gone all night with that little notice, but whatever.  I have no more pride or shame at this point.  I would drop the girls off at my wife’s office, and drive down all by myself and see the show.  Part of the joy would be all the time I would get by myself.  I hardly ever any time alone anymore.  It is one of my favorite things, but it’s so rare.  I still occasionally get out to the movies alone, but not as much as I did in my early 20’s.  Back then, I’d even get out to Kings games, or go down to Oakland for A’s games alone.  I enjoyed getting out of town and enjoying the silence and meeting the people tailgating.  Alas, those days are over.

So why am I not going?  Well of all the damn weekends!  I have fantasy football drafts both days.  I will be with Phil all Saturday afternoon, and running my parents league pretty much all day Sunday.  I couldn’t be gone all weekend.  It’s very selfish of me.  Any other weekend.  So I actually have been going back and forth on whether or not I want to skip both my drafts and go tonight.  I’ve been planning and researching for two months, and I’m going to skip them just to see a band that I’ve already seen twice?  And let Phil pick my team?  Can’t let that happen.  But it was a very serious discussion I had with myself.

I should have known something was up.  My wife busted out her Bosstones shirt last Sunday.  She never wears it.  Just casually throws it on?  The universe was trying to tell me something.  Today, I wore my “Back in Plaid” concert T from ’08 when I saw them in Clear Lake.  I wonder if the wife will notice, and what she will say.

Front

Front

Back

Back

Last year I missed Gary Allan in Reno THE DAY AFTER MY BIRTHDAY.  For those unfamiliar with the geography of Northern California, Reno is two hours one way, and San Francisco is two hours the other way.  It’s great living in Sacramento.  Gary will come back.  He always does.  The Bosstones?  I don’t know that they will.  I don’t want the last time I saw them to be the last time.  I really hope they come back and I see them again.

Hey at least they were on Jimmy Kimmel Live the other night.  Eh.  I’m sure they will be back.  But, I said that once before.  Then they stopped playing together for five years.

Leave a Reply

