Summer Clean Up

Wow, has it really been almost two months since I posted?  That’s crazy!  Time flies.  So here’s the skinny.  I have been off the grid for a while setting up and planning for my fantasy football draft.  What’s that you say?  Two f**king months for stupid ass fantasy football?  You don’t get it.  That’s fine.  But yes.  Two months.  Also I’ve been incredibly lazy.  I could blame it on other stuff.  Have I been doing super fun stuff?  No not really.  Just lazy.

So let’s get caught up on what I’ve been doing.  Have I seen any good movies?  Depends on what you call good.  On DVD, I swore I was going to clean up my Netflix Queue.  Didn’t happen.  I saw The World’s End.  That was pretty good.  I didn’t like it as much as I liked Shaun of the Dead or Hot Fuzz.  But still pretty good.

I saw the Carrie remake.  I had been wanting to see this since it came out, but never got around to it.  Carrie was much better than I thought it would be.  I am big fan of Chloe Grace Moretz.  Well, I am a fan.  I’m too old to be a big fan.  She was awesome on 30 Rock, and in Kick Ass.  Kick Ass 2 was such a horrible let down, I don’t even remember if she was good or not.  I was just glad it was over and I could stop watching it.  However, I am not too old to be a big fan of Judy Greer.  I am all about Judy Greer.  She has a nice part in Carrie, but for me, every second she’s on screen it’s pure gold.

Also, I saw Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter.  Um.  Moving on.

Nothing in the theaters.  I just realized that.  Wow, that makes me sad.  Hopefully next week I will go see Guardians of the Galaxy and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.  Then on the 19th I have a date with my niece to go see As Above, So Below.

So a couple weeks ago, Phil and I went to a poker game/whiskey tasting party at the home of our friend Jeff.  You may remember Jeff from the Brew Fest post I wrote a couple months ago.  It was for Jeff’s birthday.  He loves whiskey.  Phil and I do not.  But we took a shot, and then went back to beer.  We had cigars, played some cards and had a good time.  Jeff is also in our fantasy football league and is our defending champion.  He beat me in our super bowl, and it wasn’t particularly close.

Phil, Me, Jeff

Phil, Me, Jeff

Last night, I was visiting some of my wife’s family that was up from Los Angeles.  My wife’s cousins husband went on a beer hunt for a local beer that is a bit like an alien contact story.  When someone tells you they had one, you roll your eyes and don’t believe them, because no one has really ever seen one.  I’m not sure how popular this beer is elsewhere, but here in Northern California, it’s the Holy Grail of beers.  You have to follow bars on Facebook just to learn when this beer is on tap and if you aren’t there within an hour or two, you’re shit out of luck.  And no place ever has bottles of it.  Ever.  The beer is called Pliny the Elder.  I think I’ve mentioned it before, as it is Phil’s favorite beer.  I’ve tried to get him some every year on his birthday, because that’s how amazing a friend I am.  I doubt Phil’s other friends even remember his birthday.  (I’ve met some of his other friends).  But I can never find it.

Pliny the Elder

Pliny the Elder

A very happy Eric

A very happy Eric

ANYWAY, this guy finds it a random liquor store down the street.  I don’t like super hoppy beers normally, which this is.  But I will say this.  If you can ever get your hands on some of this, do it.  I loved this beer and I get why it’s Phil’s favorite.  Damn was it good.  I cannot oversell it enough.  Whatever you’re doing, see if someone in your area sells this beer.  Next Sunday I will be in the area again without the family.  I am going to see if I can find whatever rabbit hole he went down and get some for myself.  If Phil is nice at our draft, I’ll get him a bottle.

As I said originally, I’ve been spending most of my time getting ready for our fantasy draft that is this upcoming Saturday.  I can’t believe its actually here.  (If you hate fantasy football, you can skip ahead).  We have a keeper league.  Phil kept Lesean McCoy (round 1), Jimmy Graham (2) and Zack Stacey (11).  I kept Matt Stafford (4), Percy Harvin (5) and Fred Jackson (9).  I think I am ready.  I hope I am ready.  I swear every year I start earlier and earlier trying to prepare.  Every year by the end of the season I am so exhausted from all of it, I swear I am never even going to play again.  Then I take 2-3 months off, and I start all over again.  So wish me luck!  There a couple of guys who share a team.  My buddy Greg, who I’ve been friends with since I was 7, is too damn cheap to pay for the league himself, so he conned our friend Patrick to pay for half of it.  Even though Patrick lived in North Carolina until about a year ago.  Now he lives in Portland.  He is like a silent owner.  He never comes to the draft, he knows nothing.  All he does is pay and never sees a return on his investment.  Here is a picture of them sharing an ice cream cone.

Greg and Pat

Greg and Pat

Leave a Reply

