How I Met Your Mother

Okay so I finally wanted to post something about How I Met Your Mother.  I didn’t get into the show until season 3 or 4.  Then I watched the last 5 seasons or so.  Had to catch up on the beginning on reruns.  I like the show.  I LIKED the show.  It is the worst last episode in the history of television.  Now I know a lot of people didn’t like the ending of The Sopranos.  I didn’t watch that show.  I am not paying for HBO.  Yes, I do have Netflix.  I understand how that works.  Have you seen my queue?!?  No of course you haven’t.  But it’s over 200 movies long now!  You thought I was behind in my blog posts?!  You haven’t seen anything!  Holy crap do I need to see some movies.

Anyway, I tried to avoid spoilers for the entire last season.  I am notorious for reading spoilers online.  Movies, TV shows… anything.  Ugh, I have to know.  But the writing was on the wall.  No matter how stupid the ending was going to be.  As I am figuring out was is going to happen, I am thinking, there is no possible way they are going to kill off the mother.  That would be the dumbest thing they could ever do.

As I learned later on, apparently that has been widely speculated online for a couple years.  I have said MANY times that I am a big ol’ dumb dumb.  But still, it’s been over a month since the episode aired (I waited a month for this rant because I didn’t want to say spoiler alert at the beginning.  If you still haven’t seen it, for the love of God, clean out your DVR), and I’m still pissed about it.

The creators of the show spend 8 1/2 seasons telling us that Robin is not in love with Ted and there is no way she will ever be with him and hey you know what would be a super easy ending?  Let’s put them together.  Just because it works for Ross and Rachel doesn’t mean it works for every show.

Does that reference even still work?  How old are my readers?!  You see, Ross and Rachel were… ugh, go search engine it.

Now, you expect my to watch the new spin off show How I Met Your Dad?!  There is no chance in hell you’re going to sucker me into wasting my time with that piece of garbage.  Now, I know a lot of people who say I should have learned my lesson when I watched HIMYM in the first place, and to you I say… mind your own damn business.  Fool me once, shame on me.  Fool me twice, I’m gonna punch you in the dick.

Often when I would do things like blogging or getting ready for bed, I may have an old episode of the show on.  If you don’t know, HIMYM reruns are ALWAYS on.  I can’t do it anymore.  Never again will I watch an episode of the show.  Except one.  In this past month, I have figured out which episode is my favorite, and I can’t turn away from it.  I can listen to arguments to the contrary, and possibly be swayed, but as of now, the best episode is the Robin Sparkles episode.

 

Leave a Reply

