Stagecoach

So it’s been a month since I’ve posted anything. To say April was a tough month would be an understatement. Not real world tough, but my world kinda tough. There are a few times a year I battle some depression and April just happened to be a longer battle than normal. When it hits, I try to remember that what’s causing it isn’t all that bad, but it still sucks for me. Either way, between constantly misbehaving children (always remember, goats have kids and people have children. My wife hates it when I correct her on that) and debilitating migraines, let’s just say I’m glad April behind us.

The other reason I’m glad April is in our rear view mirror is I don’t have to see ANOTHER Stagecoach Country Music Festival come and know I’m not going. For those who don’t know, Stagecoach is a three day festival in the desert of southern California. And it’s glorious. If you like country music.  It has been going on for 7 years or so, and I’ve missed…all freaking 7!!  To say I hate myself for it is an understatement.

Now, not all of the artists that performed were artists I enjoy. Friday nights headliner was Eric Church. Eric Church is terrible. TERRIBLE. Everytime I hear Jennifer Nettles sing, I’m afraid she’s going to swallow my face.

However, there were plenty of artists that I do love. Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan, Jason Isbell, Crystal Gayle and many many others. No matter if you like big name artists or independent up and comers, there’s someone for everyone to enjoy!!

Axs TV filmed this years event. So I got to watch it. But my daughter got to watch. And she loves live music. So that was good.  It’s almost the same as being there.  That’s what I’m telling myself.  It’s all I’ve got at this point.  Even if you watch with a beer, it’s just okay.

After watching it for parts of all three days, and looking at pictures on Twitter, I started to wonder if I was too old to go. I am 35. But screw that. My daughters have made me feel 75. When push comes to shove I can still party with the best of them. I wondered if I would fit in, but then I realized that:

  1. 1. I hate people so I wouldn’t be mingling much anyway.
  2. 2. Like I give 2 shits what anyone thinks about me.
  3. 3. You’re never too old to listen to music, enjoy the sunshine and drink tons of beer.

I’ve seen my fair share of concerts. After all these years, it’s getting harder and harder to remember them. So let’s see:

  • Skankin’ Pickle twice
  • Pearl Jam
  • Toby Keith five times
  • Brad Paisley
  • Reel Big Fish w/ The Aquabats
  • Third Eye Blind w/ Eve 6 (damn right)
  • Save Ferris
  • Garth Brooks
  • Gary Allan
  • The Mighty Mighty Bosstones
  • Kenny Chesney twice

Now Chesney was a good show. That was in San Francisco. We would take a 45 min public transit ride into the city which is plenty of time to drink all the beer hidden on my person. Super fun time.  Stagecoach would be a nice cherry on top of my concert list.  Not that it would the end of my concert going days, but they’ve certainly slowed down lately.  Which is a bummer.

So the whole time, I was telling my wife, okay we have to go next year!  She says we can’t afford it.  I’ve never once cared about money.  So I’ll find a way.  I’ve got to.  I really wish I had something to sell.  Ugh the pitfalls of having really crappy stuff.  I still have all my old baseball cards.  But combined, they won’t get us there.  Stupid childhood hobby having absolutely no value.

Even my dad thinks it would be great.  He just wants to rent an RV, and sit outside drinking and watch the people.  All 65,000 of them that pass by.  Sounds good to me!  As long as he’s paying for the RV and I can catch a ride.  Look at me, I’m saving money all over the place.  Stagecoach 2015 here I come.

Leave a Reply

