UNC vs. Duke

I am a full time dad.  When my first daughter was born, I quit my job to stay home full time.  It was a tough decision.  While I hated my job, I had just been promoted, and things were looking up.  But how often do people get the opportunity to stay home full time?  I am blessed to be able to be a full time dad.  When I did work, I would always take vacation days for the first two days of the NCAA mens basketball tournament.  I’d BBQ, drink too much (in fact, there’s a day a few years ago I’m not sure Phil remembers) and start early.  Living on the west coast, games start around 9.  And that’s when you start drinking.  Of course that was before children.  I don’t drink that early anymore.  I’m not THAT bad a father.  It’s my favorite time of year.  It’s basically my Christmas.  And it’s coming up.  I couldn’t be more excited.

This upcoming week is championship week.  All the conferences have their tournaments.  Next Sunday is selection Sunday.  If I can figure out how to post my bracket I will.  It will be better than Phils.  It always is.  What’s that, Phil?  You recall winning the pool last year?  You remember wrong.  That didn’t happen.

Anyway, tonight is the second game between North Carolina and Duke.  I bet you’re wondering why I care.  I went to Sacramento State.  Far away from both schools.  Well, when I was 10, my favorite player was Kenny Smith.  He went to North Carolina.  Ever since, my favorite school has been UNC.  The first game was close.  North Carolina pulled out the win at home 74-66.  This one is at Duke.  I’m nervous.  But still….

LET’S GO TAR HEELS!!!

 

Leave a Reply

