Devil’s Due

Every so often I take my niece to see horror movies.  Or, I guess what qualifies as horror movies these days.  Neither of us have anyone who like horror, so it’s great, we go together, and I get to spend some time with her.  She’s at that age where hanging out with your uncle is no longer cool, so the few times I get to see her, it makes me happy.  Sometimes we see people she goes to school with and I try to hide.  I don’t want to embarrass her.  She’s never said anything, nor would she, but come on, I’m not an idiot.  Well…

So last week we went to see Devil’s Due.  Holy shit this movie sucks.  Do not under any circumstances go see it.  I love horror.  But seriously, can we stop with the found footage movies?  The original (at least what I consider the original) found footage film, The Blair Witch Project, is still the best.  Now, everything is trying to copy the every other found footage movie that’s come out.  Is there the occasional found footage film that works?  Sure.  Paranormal Activity wasn’t totally awful.  But the mold breaker is usually the best.  The movie that comes out 15 years later?  Yeah, it’s certainly not going to be the film by which all found footage movies are judged.

How bad was it?  20 minutes in I was trying to figure out what the previews were.  I forgot them because they were completely unforgettable.

Speaking of The Blair Witch, it is still on the list of things that scare the bejesus out of me:

  • Heights
  • things lurking in the dark
  • the Blair Witch
  • spiders
  • wax museums
  • the chupacabra
  • spontaneous human combustion

That’s the list.  There is so much wrong with this movie.  One, it’s incredibly boring.  There are a few moments that make you jump, but they are few and far between.  And let’s not forget the camera work.  It’s so unbelievable that someone would take their camera everywhere when their life was being turned upside down this way.  Also, would anyone really use night vision from their camera rather than turn on the lights in their own house?  It’s the dumbest thing I’ve ever seen.  Every time I saw the husband (I don’t remember his name.  I’m not looking it up) turn on the camera and use night vision to run through the house, I used an overly dramatic eye roll.  NO ONE WOULD EVER DO THAT!!!!

I should have listened to my gut when I saw the preview.  It looked horrendous and sure enough, it was.  But, at the end of the day, I saw it on $5 movie night at the theater by me, and I got to spend some time with my niece.  So I guess it was worth it.

Leave a Reply

