Life of Brian

I have loved Family Guy since it debuted back in 1999.  It holds a very special place in my heart.  It’s not The Simpsons (the greatest show ever.  Well, it peaked in season 8, but we can discuss that later), but its pretty damned good.  My good friend Mike hates the show.  Doesn’t get it.  I even made him watch Blue Harvest, and he didn’t love it.  He loves Star Wars.  I’ve tried everything and just can’t get him into it.  But it was important to me that he tried.  Because the show is that important to me.

The Simpsons came out this year and said they were going to kill off a famous character.  My fraternity brother Fez and I have discussed which character that will be.  I am prepared for the worst.  But at least I had time to prepare.  What Family Guy did… I wasn’t ready for.

If you haven’t heard, the writers killed off the family dog, Brian.  Brian, in my mind, had pretty much become the best character on the show.  He didn’t always have the funniest jokes, or the best storylines, but I loved him.  And now he’s gone.

I won’t spoil how he was killed, but I was really thinking the whole episode that something would happen and everything would be okay.  A dream sequence.  Stewie would rebuild his time machine.  Something, ANYTHING.  When the show ended, I said out loud, “What the f**k was that?!?!?”  Luckily my daughters stayed asleep.  Because it was loud.  I immediately jumped online to find out if this was maybe part 1 of a two part episode, and maybe Seth MacFarlane would say, “Don’t worry!  Let us handle this!”  But no.  He’s gone.

In an interview with E!, one of the EP’s said “our fans are smart enough and have been loyal to our show for long enough, to know that they can trust us. We always make choices that always work to the greatest benefit of the series.”  But this doesn’t feel right.  I’m one of these loyal fans, and I’ve always trusted them.  I will be very skeptical going forward.

I mean for God’s sake!  The new dog is so f**king terrible!!  I know, it’s one episode and they needed to give him an origin story.  But talk about boring.  Maybe I was just in too much shock to care.  Maybe I’ll be in too much shock to care going forward.  We shall see.

There are petitions online to bring Brian back.  People are pissed.  And they have every right to be.  A favorite TV character dying can be traumatic for people.  I’ve read a few pages of comments from people on different sites, and there are a lot of people who won’t be watching the show any longer.  I am not one of these people.  I will continue to watch, but with great hesitation.  It won’t feel right, and it won’t be the same.  It’s probably going to suck, and my friend Mike will be right, finally.  Don’t tell him I said that.

I really hope something happens and they decide to bring him back.  I don’t care if it’s some stupid made up way, like in the episode where Stewie killed Lois.  Just do it.  But until then, I will be sad.

RIP Brian.

One response to “Life of Brian

Leave a Reply

