The worst story of the month

This is the worst thing I’ve read since the last worst thing I read.  It really goes to show what horrible horrible people there are in this world.  However, maybe I’m just out of touch and have no idea what goes on in the real world these days.

So basically, a couple got married.  The former boss of one of happy couple attended and brought, as a gift, a gift basket of assorted pastas and high end goodies.  A very nice gesture from someone who clearly is no more than an acquaintance.  This half of the couple emailed her former boss and said she was allergic to gluten and needed the receipt to return the gift.  A little shady, but not the end of the world in my book.

Here’s where it gets fun, and where these people become completely deplorable.  This woman’s better half emails this guy and says that no one brings gifts anymore.  It is expected that people not only just bring cash to a wedding, but you bring enough to pay for your own food.  WHAT?!?

Okay, so lets say for arguments sake that this is proper etiquette.  Maybe this guest is like me and is completely clueless as to the new ways of weddings.  It is completely rude and disgusting of these newlyweds to attack a guest this way.  He was invited to your wedding.  If you cannot afford to pay for your guests to eat at your wedding, maybe you should have a smaller wedding.

I admit, I have been married for a very long time.  Sometimes, it seems like an eternity.  And as each year passes, I go to fewer and fewer weddings.  But I have always brought a gift, and I have never been expected to pay for my own food.  It makes me glad that I don’t have to go to a lot of weddings in the future.  I wouldn’t have any idea what I’m supposed to do.  Although I guess any weddings I go to would be for people who aren’t some of the worst people on the planet.

Maybe I’m wrong?  Is this the way weddings are going now?  Let me know.  But there’d better be a damn good argument for treating someone this way who was a guest at your wedding.

Leave a Reply

