Man of Steel

So let’s just get this out of the way. The movie isn’t all that great. Hell, it’s not all that good. I was extremely disappointed. I am a huge superhero fan. I am not a huge fan of comic books. I do read a few comic books. Mostly Green Arrow. He’s the best!! I’ll blog about him another time. This is about Superman. Give me a good origin story, and I am an easy customer.

The movie opens on Krypton and the destruction of the planet that sends Kal-El to Earth to live among the humans. I really enjoyed this part of the movie. I thought it was really well done. Unfortunately, this is where it all went downhill. The movie is two and a half hours, so I had a lot of time to think, as there isn’t much of the movie that kept my interest. I started to wonder, is it possible to make a good Superman movie?

The thing I liked most about this movie was Kevin Costner’s Jon Kent. I thought the way he was written was really well done. This was seriously about it. Superman stands for everything that is good in the world. Whereas Batman is willing to do whatever is necessary to get the job done, Superman has a moral code that cannot be tarnished. In this day and age, is it possible to make a film where our hero has that much integrity?

Maybe it’s in the powers of the man of tomorrow. If you look at other superhero films, someone like Captain America had a strong set of morals, and The First Avenger is my favorite Marvel superhero flick ever. In The Avengers, outside of Thor, they are all human. There’s always a chance one of them won’t make it, however unlikely. The last son of Krypton has no such vulnerability. True, in this movie he is battling another Kryptonian in General Zod, but when you’re powered by Earth’s yellow Sun, not much can go wrong for you.

So how does one make a good Superman movie? I don’t know what the right answer is. Superman Returns was abysmal. I haven’t seen any of the original series in forever. I wonder if they have held up as well as I remember them being as a kid. Probably not. I’ve read that Warner Brothers is going to use The Man of Steel as the starting movie for their Justice League world. I’m hopeful that they can turn this around when other characters are brought into the mix. Whether they introduce heroes in their own movies first, or start them in the Justice League of America, I don’t know, I don’t care. I just know if I were going to make a JLA movie, the first thing I would do is call Joss Whedon.

One response to “Man of Steel

  1. Pingback: Blockbuster Round-Up: A Review of this Summer’s Biggest Movies (So Far) | SACTOWN'S FINEST BLOG

Leave a Reply

