Iron Man 3

I saw Iron Man 3 a few days ago.  I wanted to wait a bit to gather my thoughts.  After thinking about it, I loved it.  I liked it better than 2, not sure about 1.  I’d like to wait and see the entire trilogy together before making that decision.

I assume that most of the world has seen the movie by now, but in case you haven’t, I won’t put in much plot summary.  Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr) battles The Mandarin who has an army of men and women who were subjected to Extremis, an experimental regenerative treatment that that helps regrow missing limbs.

I found the use of Ben Kingsley a little wasted.  I really don’t want to spoil anything, so if you haven’t seen it, go see it, but I really was disappointed with his character.  The crowd in the theater went ape-shit over it, but I didn’t find it as hilarious.  I guess I was in the minority.

The part of the film I liked best was how introspective Tony Stark is throughout the entire movie.  In the first two parts, and even in The Avengers, he is beyond arrogant.  Don’t get me wrong, it makes for an amazing character.  But the way he has transformed fascinated me.  He can’t sleep, he has anxiety attacks.  He still has all the money, all the power, all the fame.  But he is just like everyone else; a very flawed person.

He couldn’t become Iron Man or get to where he is in life without being the arrogant, womanizing asshole he was.  Nor could he have kept the government from taking control of his technology, or led The Avengers.  He had to be that guy prior to this movie.  But here, he is a completely different person, and I loved it.  He is constantly apologizing to Pepper Potts (Gwyneth Paltrow) for everything he has ever done.  It was a brilliant character change.

It’s pretty clear that Christopher Nolan’s Dark Knight trilogy created the superhero movie genre that we know today.  But I think Downey’s Iron Man is by far the best superhero character around.  I believe this is the last Iron Man movie.  I really hope Marvel does not reboot this series.  Anyone can be Batman.  There have already been so many Superman’s, that I have no problem believing there will be a hundred more Men of Tomorrow.  But Downey’s portrayal of Tony Stark is unmatched.  I cannot nor do I want to see anyone be Iron Man other than Robert Downey Jr.

Also, feel free to skip the scene in the credits.  It’s not worth it, plus you can see it online.

Leave a Reply

