May 16, 1929

I meant to post this yesterday, but I got caught up in Kings stuff.  So yesterday was the anniversary of the very first Oscars ceremony.  And I wanted to post something to say how much I hate the Oscars.  A night of everyone saying, look at me, look at how wonderful I am!  Isn’t it great how expensive my clothes are?!  I need an award to justify my performance!

Don’t get me started on the actual awards.  All I know is if the movie is nominated for Best Picture, eight times out of 10, I am going to hate it.  For the love of God a silent film won two years ago.  IN 2011!!!  not 1911!!!

Now I will admit, I am the exact demographic that film studios are targeting when they make movies.  I cannot stay away.  And I admit that many of these pictures are awful.  But I still give them my money every time.  Which is part of the problem. I know as long as people like me keep going, they will never learn their lesson and stop making them, but I can’t help it.

A buddy of mine loves the Oscars.  He runs pools and throws parties around the show.  I can’t remember the last time I watched it.  And I can’t imagine I will any time soon.  Even hosted by Seth McFarlane, whom I love, couldn’t get me to tune in.  Plus the show takes like four days to air.  I don’t have time to sit through the 15 minute thank you that you need to give for best cinematography.  Thanks, I’ll pass.

Leave a Reply

